System warnings

System Warnings

System warnings are used to notify you of things that happen in the Storeganise system that may need your attention. They are also used to notify you if you are using old parts of the system which have been updated and may be removed in a future update.

They appear on the Dashboard (for valet businesses) and the Site Overview page (for self-storage businesses). If you don't see them, then there's nothing to worry about!

Below you can find more information on the more common system warnings you may encounter and how to handle them:

"User 'joe@example.org' has no invoice date"

This warning is generated when an active valet customer is found without an invoiceDate set.

In this context, an active user is a customer that has:

  • a valet plan subscription (`user.planId`)
  • active recurring charges
  • valet items in storage

To fix this warning, click through to the user page and set an invoice date for their account. The system will generate the customer's regular invoice on this date each month.

If the user should not be considered active, you should remove their plan or recurring charges, or mark set their items to the correct state (usually this would be 'with customer'.

When fixed, click the ✖️ button on the right side of the warning to clear it.

"User 'joe@example.org' has deprecated fields in use. Please replace them with custom fields."

This warning is generated when a user is found that is using deprecated (old, no longer supported) fields. These are fields that will be removed in an upcoming version and they are listed below:

  • Personal ID
  • Secondary phone
  • Company ID
  • External ID
  • Alternate Contact
  • Alt. Name
  • Alt. Address
  • Alt. Phone
  • Alt. Email

To fix this warning, click through to the user page and remove the values for the fields above. You can continue to store these pieces of information if needed, by using custom fields. Please read this article on custom fields to find out how they work and how to set them up for storing this type of information for your users.

When fixed, click the ✖️ button on the right side of the warning to clear it.

"Item 6E707GX is unassigned but has contents"

This warning is generated when a valet item is marked as 'unassigned' but has some information related to its contents - either a title, description or photo/image.

Unassigned items do not have custom photos or descriptions etc. because they are ready to be assigned to a customer.

This warning can be an indicator that an item was incorrectly unassigned, or that it was unassigned by accident but then not changed back to its correct state (i.e. 'in storage' or 'with customer').

To fix this warning, click through to the item page and check if it is in the expected state. It might need to be changed to 'in storage' or 'with customer'. Otherwise, if the item really is unassigned, then remove the title/description or custom photo.

When fixed, click the ✖️ button on the right side of the warning to clear it.

"Deprecated endpoint in use: /v1/users/:userId"

If you see this warning you are probably using the Storeganise API (e.g. for a custom booking website/app, or for integrations with Storeganise).

This warning is generated when your app/integration uses an old part of the API. As we develop add and improve features, we sometimes need to replace old parts of the API. These warnings are generated to alert you that you are using a part of the code that may stop working in the future.

The URL/endpoint in the warning will tell you which part of your code needs replacing.

To fix this warning, pass this warning on to your developers and ask them to check the latest version of the Storeganise API documentation. This will guide them in how to update the code.

When fixed, click the ✖️ button on the right side of the warning to clear it. If the deprecated part of the API is still being used, this warning will re-appear later until it is fixed.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us